This quote from Science 2.0:
"There is a surface of N dimensions without general relativity, the stuff of which obeys some rules that allow for evolution and all that, only to end up with CONSCIOUS systems that argue in all earnest that the world fundamentally must have N+1 dimensions and that anybody who does not pledge full allegiance to general relativity as the fundamental last answer is a total quack and has no place in science or philosophy."
Does he not make a big leap when he assumes that there is such a thing as consciousness?
ON-GOING TOPICS
Friday, October 1, 2010
Sunday, August 15, 2010
Finding a Focus for this Blog
| Topic Title*: | Finding a Focus for this Blog |
| First Topic Comment*: | I can see that it may take a while to find out where we go on this blog. My rough view of it is as a place where we can philosophize about serious matters but at the same time recognize light subjects that may later be seen to relate to the serious subjects. |
Powered by EmailMeForm
Saturday, August 14, 2010
The wisdom of starting a blog in the first place
I'm not sure what this blog is going to be about. If I have a plan at all, it is to let the community determine where this goes. If I don't get any response, then this is just a place where I can let of a little steam.
Maybe I should call it something to do with venting. Let's see. What about "Venting the Ego". No, I don't think anyone would be attracted to someone's venting their ego. Maybe "The Vent". Hey, I like the sound of that! Here we could sublimate our needs and still get the "word" out to the world. It works both ways.
Let me know what you think. If I don't get any comments, I'll take that as tacit consent.
Maybe I should call it something to do with venting. Let's see. What about "Venting the Ego". No, I don't think anyone would be attracted to someone's venting their ego. Maybe "The Vent". Hey, I like the sound of that! Here we could sublimate our needs and still get the "word" out to the world. It works both ways.
Let me know what you think. If I don't get any comments, I'll take that as tacit consent.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)